measure once, cut twice – old carpenter’s proverb

IMG_9519

measure once, cut twice – old carpenter’s proverb

I used today’s Daily Prompt word of “measure” as an excuse to take a picture of some of my dad’s woodwork and talk a little about him.    We lost him to lung cancer on Nov 1, 2004, less than a week after his 65th birthday.  He always looked forward to turning 65 so he could receive his retirement check (Social Security).  He didn’t get to enjoy that check as it came in the mail a few days after he had passed away.  That year, I had just started a another semester at Florida State University working towards my Master’s degree when he told me he had just found out he had cancer, and we had his funeral before I finished that same semester.

I miss the long philosophical conversations me and him used to have and his funny witty jokes.  I’m not sure how he got to be so good at checkers but that’s one game I never beat him at.  After the Internet became a thing, he loved to play checkers online where he finally found some decent competition and his rankings in the game were quite envious.  He loved vegetable gardening and the outdoors.  But he also loved watching tv; when I worked at a movie rental company, I kept him supplied with movies and I was thinking there was no way he could remember watching that many movies so I occasionally and purposely gave him one I had brought to him before and he would always catch it and he would say he watched it again but he thinks he had saw that one before.  LOL.

In the picture he made the shelf, the wooden box, and the little church coin bank.  Me and my daughter made the little white dalmatian.  We’ve did several of the little 3-d wooden animals and I’ll post more of them on other days.  My dad didn’t make a lot of figurines as he thought most items should be functional and not just for looks. I got the gazelle from a flea market and the stone items from Pier 1 imports many years ago and snagged the matryoshka doll recently from Amazon.

The wooden bowls I bought from a kind old man who was selling his wooden wares beside the highway.  He showed me a some old tattered Polaroids of his wife and her pet raccoons.  I could tell he loved and missed his wife very much even though he said he lost her many years ago.  I’ve always had a lot of respect for woodworkers and carpenters and I figure most of them like my dad believed strongly in the old carpenter’s proverb.  Measuring once and cutting twice not only can save money but time and can cut down on waste.   All of them that I’ve ever met take pride in what they do and have an appreciation for hard work.

2 thoughts on “measure once, cut twice – old carpenter’s proverb

  1. My apologies. Lifelessons, you are indeed correct. I normally include hyperlinks in my posts and I forgot to add the ones I had in mind for this – I have now added them back to the original post. I was pretty tired last night when I wrote it. The original Carpenter’s Proverb is certainly, Measure Twice, cut once. The opposite of the original is Measure Once, Cut Twice which is a bias towards action rather than careful thought as indicated by this Dilbert cartoon strip.

    http://dilbert.com/strip/1997-03-26

    My original intent was an attention grabber and a tribute to my Dad but I got in too big of a hurry and didn’t follow the original proverb. 🙂 Thank you for your reply.

    Like

Leave a Reply

